Lightened Spinach and Artichoke Dip

Sorry about the bad picture. I went over to my sister’s house today to enjoy the game. GO PACKERS!!!  I decided to bring a guilt free version of my favorite super bowl food. I didn’t have my real camera so I had to use Thogg’s phone.

Review: OMG awesome. We devoured it and even Thogg, who usually hates this dish when I have gotten it while dining out, really liked it. There was no grease swimming all over the bowl, it browns up nicely, and has full flavor. I’ll admit, I’m one of those people who sometimes is willing to give up a bit of flavor in order to eat healthier. In this dish, I didn’t have to. So full of flavor and none of the guilt. Everyone at the party tonight loved it and was diving in for seconds, thirds and fourths.I even used my fingers to get the last bit when no one was looking.

Ingredients:
2 c (8 oz) shyredded light mozzarella cheese, divided
1/2 c fat free sour cream
1/4 cup (1 oz) grated parm (high quality stuff gives better flavor)
1/4 tsp black pepper
3-4 garlic cloves, minced
1x 14oz can artichoke hearts, drained and chopped
2x (8 oz) blocks of 50% reduced fat cream cheese – softened
10 oz of packaged frozen chopped spinach – thawed, drained, and squeezed dry
tortilla chips for serving

Directions:
1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees C
2) combine 1 1/2 c mozzarella, the sour cream, 2 Tbs parm, and the next 6 ingredients in a large bowl. Stir until well blended. Spoon mixture into a 1/2 qt baking dish. Sprinkle with the remaining mozzarella and parm.
3) Bake at 350 for 30 min. or until bubbly and golden brown. You may need to broil at the end to get the top browned.

Leave a Reply

