Sourdough Pancakes

Meet Glop’s first children:

Plain Sourdough Pancakes… I need to work on my flipping technique.

Sourdough Pancakes With Dried Blueberries

Review: very tasty. I was surprised at how forgiving this recipe was. If baking is chemistry I would have gotten a D on this project and somehow the results still turned out B to B+ worthy. I was bad and didn’t do my pancake sponge correctly as I was really tired last night. When I went to do my evening feeding, I split glop (my sourdough starter) as usual, fed him and then took the leftovers and created a second sourdough sponge.  If I’d read my pancake recipe correctly, I would have realized that the pancake sponge is a whole different recipe. I fudged with it this morning in an attempt to get it slightly corrected, thinking I’d likely just throw that pancakes away.Still, the pancakes were good. I’m looking forward to seeing how good they’ll be if I actually get my recipes straight next time.

Here’s the pancake recipe which can also be used to make waffles if you are fortunate enough to have a waffle maker. You can also find it at the King Arthur Flours website:
1)Overnight Pancake Sponge to be started the night before
-1 cup unfed sourdough starter
-2 cups flour (white, white whole wheat or a combo of the two)
-2 cups low fat buttermilk
-2 Tbs raw sugar
*Into a clean bowl, whip together all the ingredients, incorporating some air into the mixture. Cover the bowl loosely with plastic wrap and leave on the counter overnight for about 12 hours.

2)Pancake Batter
-all of the pancake sponge
-2 large eggs
-1/4 cup vegetable oil
-3/4 tsp salt
-1 tsp baking soda
*whip the eggs and oil together. Add to the pancake sponge and stir together a few times. Add the salt and baking soda. Stir until everything is smooth and incorporated. The mixture will begin to bubble.
*on a large pan or skillet over medium heat, quickly rub a stick of butter over the surface (just a quick rub when the pan is hot). The butter should begin sizzling slightly. Add the pancakes and toss in a hand full of blueberries if you’d like. Wait until the edges begin to set and the bubbles pop and leave little holes around the edges. If you have your heat right, the pancake should be a nice golden to dark brown color when you flip it. Cook the reverse side for a few minutes until cooked through.

Glop update: He is still growing strong on day 3. Starting to develop a slightly sour smell and still bubbles up like a champ when fed.

To find how to make your own pet sourdough starter please see my post for Meet Glop

Leave a Reply

