Wheat/Rye Bread with caramelized onions

This bread was so OMG good that it made every minute of the recipe worth it. Caramelizing the onions takes time. Making home made bread takes time. But if you have some time to spare and you want to wow your friends or even just show someone you love them… Make this for them. It is way better than anything you can get in a store.

For this recipe I used my caramelized onions: http://cookingforthogg.livejournal.com/3698.html
and my basic bread recipe: http://cookingforthogg.livejournal.com/3982.html

In the bread recipe I used 1c unbleached white high protein flour (Trader Joes regular white flour is cheap and has a really high protein content), 1.5c white whole wheat flour (again TJ’s has it cheap), and 1/2c rye flour. I think I had to add one additional tablespoon of white flour near the end of kneading to get the bottom to come clean.

Follow the basic bread recipe and then after the time in the refrigerator I split the batch into two and used just half of it. The other half is sitting happily in the fridge. I liberally dusted a board with flour and then dusted the top with flour. Using a rolling pin, i gently rolled the dough into a sloppy rectangle with an even thickness of perhaps just a bit more than 1/2 and inch. I think the whole thing was around 1.5 feet long by 14 inches wide. It doesn’t have to be perfect, you just want it thinnish. While rolling, pick up the bread and turn it, don’t turn your rolling pin. This also helps you make sure that the bread doesn’t stick to the board. I had to keep redusting the top during this process.

I wanted a drier dough so I didn’t cover with a wet cloth. Because wheat bread tends to be heavy, I let this one rise for a full hour plus a bit. Then I smeared half of the bread with a thick layer of the caramelized onions. Try not to push down when adding the onions, you don’t want to deflate the bread. I think I used more than 1/2 the onion batch. The rest went into the freezer for use another time. I then took a serrated knife and made 3 long slits on the other half of the bread. I folded the bread over on itself and then crimped the edge like a calzone.

Into a 450 degree preheated oven for about 15 minutes or a tad more. If your pizza stone was good and thuroughly heated, it will cook through very quickly given how thin this bread is. Let cool on a rack for 5-10 minutes. Slice and serve.

Leave a Reply

