Pumpkin Butter

I’m really not someone who does any canning. This recipe is not intended for canning but for either immediate use or storage in the freezer. I created this because my favorite grocery store isn’t carrying pumpkin butter yet and I really needed it for my tart recipe. Forgot to take pictures, sorry :(.

Ingredients:
*1 16 oz can of pureed pumpkin (or 1 lb of fresh cooked pumpkin pureed)
*1/4c plus 2 Tbs apple juice
*1 tsp ground ginger
*1/4 tsp ground cloves
*1 tsp ground cinnamon
*1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
*1/2c white sugar
*1/4 cup honey
*juice from 1 lemon

Directions:
Dump everything into a small sauce pan with a lid. Stir it up and turn the heat up to a low boil. Cover and simmer for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally. You will end up with a very thick, fragrant, medium-dark brown fruit butter. This recipe makes enough for 2 of my pumpkin tarts with a little extra to use on some pumpkin bread. NOM!!!

Leave a comment