Quick Fried Rice

Quick Fried Rice – It’s What’s for Dinner!

I was hungry tonight but not especially motivated to cook anything fancy. Thogg has a sore throat so I set him up with the remaining savory squash soup I made a few days ago. Unfortunately, there wasn’t enough for two so I took a quick look in the fridge: left-over rice, some eggs, green onions, and some button mushrooms. Fried rice it is then. 

Asian style food is kind of my go-to for whipping something up. I guess it helps to have been raised by an Asian mother. This is pretty simple and almost any meat can be added to this. You can use chives or regular onions in place of spring onions if that’s what you have on hand. You can also sub any small chopped veg for the mushrooms I use here, better yet, try a medley.

When I make larger batches I’m a little more picky about making a bowl of soy “seasoning” liquid which I measure out and apply until things taste just right. If I’m cooking for one I just throw things in the pan without much thought for measurements. That’s pretty much what I did tonight. I apologize if my approximations are a bit vague.

Ingredients (per serving):

  • between 1/2 to 1 c cooked white rice – depends on how hungry I am 😉
  • 1 to 2 whole eggs ( if you have other meat one egg will be enough)
  • 2 green onions – sliced with white and green parts separated into two piles
  • 3 or 4 button mushrooms – cleaned and chopped to small pieces
  • 1 large clove of garlic – minced
  • pinch of sugar
  • soy sauce – to taste
  • few drops of toasted sesame oil – optional but recommended
  • splash of water
  • splash of olive oil
  • small dab of butter
  • pinch of salt
  • pinch of black pepper

Directions:

  1. Into a small non-stick skillet over medium heat add a tsp or two of olive oil and a small pat (tsp or so) of butter. Let the pan heat up until the butter sizzles and melts, then add your mushrooms and a small pinch of salt and black pepper. Sautee them until they are cooked, begin to shrink and take on a little color. Next, add the minced garlic and the sliced whites of the green onions and sautee for another minute.
  2. Add the rice, if it is cold break it up with a wooden spoon or some chopsticks.  Add a little water, a small sprinkle of sugar, and a few shakes of soy sauce, stirring to continue breaking down the rice and incorporate everything.
  3. Once the liquid has evaporated and everything starts to look a bit drier and fluffier crack your egg(s) and add them directly to the pan with the rice. Use a pair of chopsticks to swirl them around and mix them throughout the rice. When the eggs cook thoroughly take everything off the heat.
  4. Add your fried rice to a bowl and drizzle just a few drops of toasted sesame oil. Give it a taste and add more soy-sauce if needed. Top with the sliced greens of your spring onions. If you’re lucky enough to have some crunch caramelized shallots feel free to throw in a pinch of them. I know I always enjoy them in my fried rice. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

