Green Eggs – Adding Some Color to a February Morning

Green Eggs

 

I have been such a bad food blogger recently. Shame on me for being so neglectful. Last summer I was diagnosed with Thyroid disease. I was very sick and had to do some diet changes. Unfortunately, my particular Thyroid disorder went along with Insulin issues. For the time being, I have had to give up almost all sugar and starch. As you can imagine, this doesn’t relate very well to what most people would consider gourmet (even healthy gourmet) food.

I am doing better these days but my diet is still very limited. I will try to start posting food recipes again but most of the upcoming recipes will be very low on starches and sugars and will likely have a higher fat content than my previous recipes.

On to the good stuff now…

Green Eggs! This was a test run for something I’ve been wanting to do for a while now. I’m not much of a fan of food coloring so I wanted to do a green eggs colored with fresh or dried herbs. It is February and my garden is barren so I went with the dried variety. It is also super easy because I was able to find a spice mixture that had everything I wanted. No pre-mixing!!! You can get it yourself at World Spice, which has a physical shop right near Seattle’s Pike Place Market. They also do online orders for those of you that aren’t living near Seattle. For this recipe I used their “Ranch” spice mix. Please note it does NOT contain salt, which makes it perfect for people who like to tinker.

If you want to make a similar mixture I can tell you what you’ll want to put into it: Garlic powder, onion powder, dried dill, dried ground chives, dried ground parsley, and dried ground thyme. Fairly simple and most cooks will have these ingredients on hand you’ll just need to pop it into a spice grinder or dedicated (for spices) coffee grinder.

The recipe is super easy and takes almost no prep. I even used Trader Joe’s Avocado’s Number Guacamole.

Ingredients:

  • olive oil
  • two eggs (per person)
  • Ranch spice mix (mentioned above)
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 Tbs Guacamole (per person)

Directions:

  1. I’m fairly sure most of you know how to fry an egg but if you don’t… In a pan over medium heat add some olive oil and coat to swirl. Carefully crack your eggs, trying not to disturb the yolk. Add a few pinches of the spice mix over the tops of the eggs along with a grind or two of black pepper and a small pinch of salt.
  2. Cook over medium to medium-low heat until the whites are almost cooked through. If there is less than 1/4cm of runny whites along the top you can flip. If you like your eggs over easy, remove from heat immediately and count to about 10. Flip back over and plate. For over medium leave it on the heat and count to 15-20.
  3. Serve with a few tablespoons of guacamole and some toast if you like.

I haven’t had a chance to try it with either ham or fried Spam because I didn’t have any on hand, but I’m will the next time I make this. I’m betting it will be a delicious combo.

Leave a Reply

